Manufacturers

The Anarchist and The Devil Do Cabaret

The Anarchist and The Devil Do Cabaret

When the internationally acclaimed rock‘n’roll cabaret band Rhythm Activism toured Europe, it was through a Europe in transition that they traveled—a Europe marked by political and racial tension.

More details


£5.00

When the internationally acclaimed rock‘n’roll cabaret band Rhythm Activism toured Europe in order to promote their newest CD, it was through a Europe in transition that they traveled—a Europe marked by political and racial tension. Being equally at home in hard core clubs, poetry festivals, soup kitchens, the netherworld of squats, or urine drenched dives and youthfully, defiant haunts where cultural resistance rules, they drew immediate followers. The Anarchist and The Devil Do Cabaret is an amazing portrayal of that tour, told with a sense of humor, a down-to-earth perception, and in the tradition of Jack Kerouac’s On the Road or Henry Rollins’ Get In the Van.

Inspired by encounters with Europe's new multi-racial underclass—the working poor, street people, immigrants, refugees, marginalized youth, the aged—this book is not merely an insider's look into the state of rock'n’roll, it is, as well, a commentary on the state of Europe in the late 20th century. In a wonderful reversal of tradition, every so often Nawrocki slips from his chronicles of life into short fiction pieces. These stories, real and exaggerated, are filled with a cast of friends, lovers, and fellow travelers—panhandlers and anarchists, the unemployed and underemployed dreaming of better times, neo-Nazis and skinheads trapped in hateful lives, prostitutes risking everything, gypsy ghetto boys fighting racism, and even the sometimes riotous band members themselves.

Norman Nawrocki is a Montreal-based author, actor, musician, and activist who has toured the world since 1986 with his music, his poetry, and his solo, educational, anti-sexist, 'sex' comedy cabarets. He is the author of four books of poetry, has over 45 releases with his bands, and has produced two documentary videos. He gives workshops about 'creative resistance' and how to use theater, music and comedy for radical social change.

Cart  

No products

£0.00 Shipping
£0.00 Total

Cart Check out

New products

  • 2018 London Rebel History Calendar
  • Maximum Rocknroll *415 Dec 2017
2018 London Rebel History Calendar
Rebellious, subversive and campaigning anniversaries from London's...
Read more
Maximum Rocknroll *415 Dec 2017
Anti Police-Terror Project, Portland, OR’s No! To Rape Culture...
Read more
For a Libertarian Communism by Daniel Guerin
Daniel Guérin not only provides a critique of the socialist and...
Read more
Stanley's Exploits, Or, Civilising Africa by D.J. Nicole
David Nicoll was an anarchist militant, active in Sheffield and London a...
Read more
With the Poor People of the Earth
With the Poor People of the Earth: A Biography of Doctor John Creaghe of...
Read more
Divided We Beg ....... sticker
United We Bargain, Divided We Beg and IWW sticker
Read more
La Restencia es fertile ... sticker
La Restencia es fertile , resistance is fertile!
Read more
The Police are here.... sticker
The Police aren't here to protect you from dangerous sociopaths .......
Read more
Anarchy means.... sticker
Anarchy means starting to create a world where we don't have cops and we...
Read more
Biocentric Anarchy
This zine was written in London in 2016 by a person who's considered...
Read more
Rupturing the Dialectic by Harry Cleaver
Rupturing the Dialectic The Struggle against Work, Money, and...
Read more
Guerrillas of Desire by Kevin Van Meter
Guerrillas of Desire Notes on Everyday Resistance and Organizing to Make...
Read more
Knights Errant of Anarchy
Knights Errant of Anarchy London and the Italian Anarchist Diaspora...
Read more
Against the Couple Form / They Who Marry Do Ill
Two articles, a hundred years apart, both provocative. The first, from...
Read more
From Politics to Life by Wolfi Landstreicher
Ridding Anarchy of the Leftist Millstone
Read more
God Only Knows What Devils We Are
God Only Knows What Devils We Are from the Institute for Experimental...
Read more
3 Positions Against Prison by August O'Clairre
The following is a brief but thorough statement on prisons and those who...
Read more
Nietzschemanteion Pocket Oracle
The Nietzschemanteion is a bibliomacy system. It is at once a machine of...
Read more
Spectre At The Feast by Max Hertzberg
Book 3 of the East Berlin Series.
Read more
ORGANISE! * 89 WINTER 2017
Organise! magazine issue 89 Winter 2017 “WE WANT A REVOLUTION … NOW!” 
Read more

» All new products