Manufacturers

The Anarchist and The Devil Do Cabaret

The Anarchist and The Devil Do Cabaret

When the internationally acclaimed rock‘n’roll cabaret band Rhythm Activism toured Europe, it was through a Europe in transition that they traveled—a Europe marked by political and racial tension.

More details


£5.00

When the internationally acclaimed rock‘n’roll cabaret band Rhythm Activism toured Europe in order to promote their newest CD, it was through a Europe in transition that they traveled—a Europe marked by political and racial tension. Being equally at home in hard core clubs, poetry festivals, soup kitchens, the netherworld of squats, or urine drenched dives and youthfully, defiant haunts where cultural resistance rules, they drew immediate followers. The Anarchist and The Devil Do Cabaret is an amazing portrayal of that tour, told with a sense of humor, a down-to-earth perception, and in the tradition of Jack Kerouac’s On the Road or Henry Rollins’ Get In the Van.

Inspired by encounters with Europe's new multi-racial underclass—the working poor, street people, immigrants, refugees, marginalized youth, the aged—this book is not merely an insider's look into the state of rock'n’roll, it is, as well, a commentary on the state of Europe in the late 20th century. In a wonderful reversal of tradition, every so often Nawrocki slips from his chronicles of life into short fiction pieces. These stories, real and exaggerated, are filled with a cast of friends, lovers, and fellow travelers—panhandlers and anarchists, the unemployed and underemployed dreaming of better times, neo-Nazis and skinheads trapped in hateful lives, prostitutes risking everything, gypsy ghetto boys fighting racism, and even the sometimes riotous band members themselves.

Norman Nawrocki is a Montreal-based author, actor, musician, and activist who has toured the world since 1986 with his music, his poetry, and his solo, educational, anti-sexist, 'sex' comedy cabarets. He is the author of four books of poetry, has over 45 releases with his bands, and has produced two documentary videos. He gives workshops about 'creative resistance' and how to use theater, music and comedy for radical social change.

Cart  

No products

£0.00 Shipping
£0.00 Total

Cart Check out

New products

  • The judges are going to jail
  • An Invitation to Desertion
The judges are going to jail
Past tense songsheets no 1, 2012
Read more
An Invitation to Desertion
Bellamy Fitzpatrick, 2018, reprinted by Bandicoot, 2022
Read more
Walter Crane Colouring Book
Colouring book of Walter Crane's iconic movement posters from the 19th...
Read more
Spanish Revolution and Civil War Postcards
Set of 8 full colour postcards printed by Pirate Press
Read more
Queer Plants (and friends) colouring zine
By Kres Otter Lieffe and Anja van Geert, a fun and informative colouring...
Read more
The Herbal Yearbook
A guide throughout your herbal year, by Herbalists without Borders,...
Read more
This is not a love story A6
Lovekills, Punk and the first 20 years of Anarcha-feminism in Romania....
Read more
The anarchist Jesus A6
by Heathcote Williams
Read more
Crisis and Care
Queer Activist Responses to a Global Pandemic. Adrian Shanker (Editor)...
Read more
One way ticket to cubesville issue 25
Issue 25 of this long running zine, 2022
Read more
Playing as if the world mattered
An Illustrated History of Activism in Sports. Gabriel Kuhn, PM Press 2022
Read more
The Impossible Community
Realizing Communitarian Anarchism, Second Edition. By John P Clark. PM...
Read more
Word of a Rebel
by Peter Kropotkin, Iain McKay, Elisee Reclus. Cover art by NO Bonzo. PM...
Read more
Commoning
with George Caffentzis and Silvia Federici. Edited by Camille...
Read more
Voices of Struggle
8 years of Alarmphone, the hotline for people at distress in the sea. 2022
Read more
Sick of it all!
Work, inquiry, & struggle in the NHS. Angry Workers 2022
Read more
Camera Forward
The first in the new series of pamphlets from MayDay Rooms. Camera...
Read more
Settler Colonialism
An Introduction, by Sai Englert. An accessible introduction to the...
Read more
Fractured
Race Class Gender and the Hatred of Identity Politics. An Antidote to...
Read more
Re-organise Strategy
A6 pamphlet, Dog section press and LUCOOP, 2022
Read more

» All new products